Become a Licensed Individual Real Estate Broker in Texas
Effective September 1, 2012, anyone applying for a Texas real estate broker license must have at least four years (48 months) of experience as a licensed real estate agent in Texas. Those four years must have taken place within five years (60 months) of the date of application. In addition, you must demonstrate no less than 3,600 points of qualifying practical experience obtained during four out of five years as required by paragraph 535.56(b) of the Rules of the Texas Real Estate Commission.
**If you meet the above requirements, you then need to obtain a total of 900 hours, including 270 hours in CORE courses. The additional 630 hours may be CORE or related courses. A 30-hour Brokerage course must also be completed as part of the 270 CORE hours. A Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university satisfies all of the related education requirements for a brokers license.
A “Broker Program” is offered to students interested in obtaining their Broker’s license, which allows students to enroll in courses at a discounted price.
To be placed in the Broker Program, you must request a placement. At the time of your request, a list of your completed courses will be obtained from TREC and a Broker file will be created for you.
Once you are placed in the Broker Program, we will send you an outline of recommended courses and a plan to obtain the education requirements. As you complete the courses, your registration fees will be adjusted in accordance with the plan created for you.